Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 2/23/2006 11:30:05 AM EDT
I would like to find a project gun - something I could hopefully refinish (maybe both the stock and the metal). I was thinking a pawnshop might be the best bet to find something. Can anyone recommend a pawn shop that has a decent selection of guns? In looking through the phone book I noticed not all pawn shops sell guns so any advise will be appreciated.

Also, it doesn't really matter if it's a rifle or shotgun, I wouldn't mind doing a pistol either if something catches my eye.
Link Posted: 2/23/2006 11:40:29 AM EDT
There are very few pawn shops that actually sell their firearms at a fair price.

They like to give 10 cents on the dollar, but then jack the price up so buying a new one is cheaper.

Link Posted: 2/23/2006 11:47:15 AM EDT
I figured as much....I have zero experience with pawn shops. Then again it seems like the private party guns I see in the news paper are really high as well.
Link Posted: 2/23/2006 11:50:54 AM EDT
You could look at Bargain Pawn on LV BLVD and Lake Mead see Glen he is normally reasonable
Link Posted: 2/23/2006 11:55:27 AM EDT
Right. Is Glen the guy who also does the reasonable FFL transfers, great guy, etc.? I remember seeing a thread about something to that effect...didn't have a chance to look for that thread though. If it is indeed the same guy it would give me a good reason to go out there.
Link Posted: 2/23/2006 11:57:20 AM EDT
Yes thats Glen
Link Posted: 2/23/2006 11:59:43 AM EDT
You won't find a better guy or dealer than Glen at bargain pawn. His transfers are decent, and he is starting to get a really good selection of guns down there. Plus he is always open to trades. I may be trading a gun right now for a p220 he has in. I was just down there today picking up my Yost 1* and he has a ton of pistols, more than I have seen in a long time.
Link Posted: 2/23/2006 12:06:21 PM EDT