Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Hometown » Ohio
Posted: 9/16/2017 11:48:58 PM EDT
So it looks like this HPA might be gaining some legs and potentially actually come up for a vote. Could this have some potentially troubling consequences for Ohio? I'm not a lawyer, but I have a few question about suppressors as they are outlined in the ORC. Obviously there's no local/state licensing for silencers or other NFA items in Ohio but if I'm reading this correctly, and remember I'm no lawyer, I think that ORC requires suppressors to be registered into the NFRTR pursuant to the NFA.

Follow my logic and tell me I'm being crazy or paranoid here... because if this is the case, wouldn't removing silencers from being able to be registered by the ATF prevent them from being legally possessed in Ohio under the ORC.

A) silencers are "dangerous ordinance" in Ohio. See section 2923.11.K.5 ...
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/2923.11

B) sections 1533.04.A and 2923.17.C.5 refer to the fact that dangerous ordnance (suppressors, among other things) should be registered with the NFA or NFRTR to be legally possessed under Ohio law. See sections ...
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/1533.04
http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/2923.17

So what's the word... if the HPA passes, and if the ATF ceases the registration of silencers, does that provide a roadblock to legally possessing a silencer in Ohio?
Link Posted: 9/17/2017 12:06:15 AM EDT
[#1]
I can't speak to everything, but 1533 is in regards to hunting and says pursuant to the NFA and its amendments.
Link Posted: 9/17/2017 4:22:48 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 9/17/2017 7:51:03 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I can't speak to everything, but 1533 is in regards to hunting and says pursuant to the NFA and its amendments.
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: