Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/7/2017 1:57:58 AM EDT
This thread reminded me that I need some fuel cans.  I am still a Washington resident, but we're here in Northern California while my wife is working for a while.  

Just a few weeks ago I donated all of my fuel cans to a neighbor in Washington since I didn't want to haul them down here or leave them in a shed all year with fuel in them.  I planned on just replacing them with a bunch of NATO cans that I'd have shipped here.

Now I have come to learn about California's gas can laws and requirements for containers sold in CA.  According to Wavian, their CAB-compliant spout and Jerry Can is CA-approved and legal in all 50 states, though Amazon notified me that I cannot have this Wavian CA-compliant setup shipped to California.  

Likewise, Amazon won't let me order the spout if it is being shipped here.  I guess I can ship it to my place up North and bring them back down on the next trip, though I'm thinking about just going with the Deutscheoptik or Atlantic British NATO cans from that GD thread and getting that Wavian spout in from another dealer that will ship to CA.

If I do this, am I required to sand and paint cans red?  

If I can't practically get a NATO or Jerry can here, what awesome cans do you locals all use?   I don't want to get razzed for filling up a can at the gas station, but from what I have read on California's Approved Containers for Sale page, the restrictions are based on what can be sold by dealers in the state, not what can be brought in or even used in the state, as long as it is CARB compliant?
Link Posted: 9/7/2017 3:10:14 AM EDT
[#1]
Ha!  Well, I went to the Waivian website to see if I could order straight from them and have them ship to California and it turns out they are a California company based in Paradise just up the hill from Chico.  Guess I'll just drive over tomorrow and see for myself!