Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/9/2006 7:51:10 PM EDT
Can I let someone fire my AR15 at a range?
I asked this in the "California firearms and weapons primer" thread but got no response.

A friend told me it was a felony to let someone under 18 handle an AR, is this true?
Can you let people over 18 fire it if you are right there?

If there are laws forbidding these acts, can we change them?
Link Posted: 2/9/2006 8:18:10 PM EDT
[#1]
As an "Expert", shouldn't you know this stuff?

Recognized in the Superior Courts of the State of California as an expert. Testified in numerous jury trials as an expert. Cross examined by defense attorneys and declared by several Superior Court Judges to be an expert. I believe I am an expert.

As long as you are in their presence you can let someone 21 and over shoot your AR.

If they are underage then their parent / guardian should be present. There used to be some junior shooters, some under 16 at our HP matches. We have several LEOs that also shoot the match and it was not a problem.
Link Posted: 2/9/2006 8:26:09 PM EDT
[#2]
Yes I should, but I do not know everything about everything in the entire world and if I do not know something I am not afraid to ask.  After I ask and get a correct answer then I will know it.  

I am thinking I could find it (or not) if I really searched through the California Penal Code but I did look and did not find it so in true ARFCOM spirit I asked after I looked in the Hometown CA forum and read quite a bit of that still not finding it.

Is it written anywhere that it is legal?
If it is not written that it is illegal it shjould be legal I know.
Say I want my 11 year old daughter to learn to shoot my AR and I am there it is OK?
I thought it was but a friend just told me a day or two ago that it was a majot no no.
Link Posted: 2/9/2006 9:09:47 PM EDT
[#3]