Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 2/1/2006 8:58:15 AM EDT
If I bought one of the off-list ar lowers from out of state before they are added to the list, would I be able to register it when it is added even though I didn't buy it through a dealer in state? Is it legal to buy a rifle out of state that isn't banned and bring it in state without filling out paperwork?
Link Posted: 2/1/2006 9:13:01 AM EDT
According to the DOJ website, it is NOT necessarry to register a longgun when moving to the PRK. Since an offlist stripped lower is just a long gun, my opinonis that you should be able to:
1. import it WHEN YOU RELOCATE to the PRK (did you register your handguns as required?)
2. build it into a fixed mag rifle.
3. register it when your legally imported long gun becomes a AW.

I'm not a lawyer, but i read all the laws.

Anyone else with a differing view????
Link Posted: 2/1/2006 9:17:34 AM EDT
Also, As far as I remember it is NOT legal to buy a firearm from out of state while a resident of PRK.

Federal law allows a rifle purchase from out of state, it but Kali law prohibits ANY firearm purchase from out of state. Don't do it. Most FFLs won't even talk to you if you show a PRK ID, some shops will question you if you have Kali plates on your car.
Link Posted: 2/1/2006 9:17:50 AM EDT
I'm already a california resident. From what I can tell, its legal for a california resident to buy a rifle ftf in nevada, as long as the rifle is legal for sale in california also. What I'd like to find out is if I can bring it into the state without breaking the law?
Link Posted: 2/1/2006 9:19:01 AM EDT
Wow, even though its a legal gun in cali? Thanks for the info. Thats exactly why I checked here first.
Link Posted: 2/1/2006 10:07:55 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 2/1/2006 10:08:45 AM EDT by bwiese]

Originally Posted By Rocknut: