Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/6/2002 7:20:55 PM EDT
I have a winchester model 70 with a synthetic stock that shoots damn good but a buddy of mind suggested that I look into getting it bedded.  I am new to this bedding concept and had a few questions:

1: Which style(s) of bedding would you recommend?

2: Which kits or materials will I need?

3: Are there any web pages that have step-by-step directions for bedding.

P.S. Having a gunsmith do it is out of the question.  The only one around is at Gander Mountain and his lowest price was 180$

Keving67
Link Posted: 2/7/2002 7:29:07 AM EDT
[#1]
I also am a professional gunsmith. With the action open take a $1.00 bill and try to slide it down from the muzzle to the breech of the barrel, between the barrel and stock.  if the $1.00 goes all the way to the forward portion of the chamber area, or is close to the chamber, without interference you do not need to bed the action. If there are any areas that are tight or where the action is binding against the stock there is a contact that needs to be removed before bedding. Post your snail mail address and I will find something to xerox and send to you. JarheadGunner.
Link Posted: 2/7/2002 7:46:10 AM EDT
[#2]
Go to Brownells for bedding supplies...
Link Posted: 2/7/2002 8:15:30 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
Go to Brownells for bedding supplies...

All you really need is Marine-tex, paste wax and Electrical tape.
Link Posted: 2/7/2002 8:51:40 AM EDT
[#4]
keving67, If your rifle shoots "damn good", I would be reluctant to mess with it. It is your rifle, and if you are happy with it, fine by me.

I have never seen a rifle that was made worse by bedding. Usually they shoot either smaller groups after bedding. Almost always, they have less shift in zero after bedding.