Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/23/2001 2:56:41 PM EDT
My pre-ban Oly lower with FN upper and Wilson HBAR gave me "T" total hell yesterday.

This is my first time taking it out and it didn't do worth a ____!

I was using NIW Adverntureline magazines with 28 rounds loaded. I would chamber the first round, pull the trigger, then FTF. The bolt would try to take the round into the chamber, but it would not lift on the "feed ramp?". It would jam the bullet down into the brass and make it look real stumpy. That is not good. Then, sometimes it would get the round halfway into the chamber, then it would want to kinda, bend the round and scrape the crap outta the side of the brass.

I thought that it might have to do something with them being new magazines and spring tensions being "off" but I switched magazines, and it would function better, but not "good." The best results I got was when I used a beat up old Colt 20 rounder. It almost ate everthing.

I am pretty sure it is not a problem with the bolt, but then again, I am not too sure. There is one thing that I have a question about that I can't remember real well. When I am about to pull the bolt out of the bolt carrier, should it be tight at all? I thought it was supposed to move freely. When I have the cam pin installed, it takes a good bit of effort to "cycle" the bolt inside of the carrier. Could this be due to the DMPS 1 piece gas rings?

Somebody please help before I take the gun to a 'smith. I really can't afford to let them tinker with it when it could be something simple.

Oh, and FWIW, I attempted to fire about 250 rounds. I probably had about 40 FTFs with that AR. My other worked pretty well.

Thanks!
Link Posted: 12/23/2001 2:57:16 PM EDT
[#1]