Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/17/2005 12:48:33 PM EDT
I originally posted this in the general forum: Where do professional gunsmiths and armorers come from? but that might not have been the best spot  so I'm reposting here, in the armory...

To sum things up:

Quoted:
Obviously there is a great divide between basic competency and expert craftsmanship which comes from years or decades of experience but how should an enthusiast pursue working with firearms as a trade?

Quoted:
I'd say trade school, followed by apprenticeship.  Take the book/lab type learning and then apply it with someone who has been doing it for a while.  Like anything else, you will pick up stuff not taught in a classroom that pays more attention to detail.

This seems the most logical path for someone like myself, since I have no shop experience past Jr. High and no actual metalwork skills.

According to this article(1997), there are two accredited private schools in the US:

Colorado School of Trades and Pennsylvania Gunsmith School.
The article also says there are nine public colleges and technical schools that offer programs.
So far, I've found detailed info on Yavapai College, which offers an Associate of Applied Science Degree in Gunsmithing (2yr).  The thing that caught my eye on that one was that they offer two levels of engraving as well CNC/CAD and I'm interested in the artistan aspect of smithing as well as fabrication/repair.  I am still looking for information on other schools/programs.