Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/16/2005 10:17:29 PM EDT
OK, either I build an AR-15 for $700 or buy an SU-16 for $550.  The extra $150 could buy a lot of accessories for the SU-16, but I'm worried about long-term performance of a mostly-plastic gun.  Has anyone found the plastics on the Kel-Tec wanting for more strength and durability?
Link Posted: 12/17/2005 1:03:13 AM EDT
[#1]
This weapon is still pretty new, so time will tell how durable they really are. Plastics have come along way and if made properly, they will be extremely durable. I have had some experience with these guns and I would suspect they would hold up just fine.....but the SL8 suffered from cracks, so we will have to wait and see. Build an AR, no doubt about durability there....will outlast you.
I would also reccomend the "new" Mini 14 which is superior to the SU-16 and is about the same price. The SU is a cool gun, but I wouldn't ever buy one.....for the money, you can do better.
Link Posted: 12/17/2005 4:13:03 AM EDT
[#2]
IMHO your price estimate on building a decent ar is kinda high.Well,I was going to post a link to an A2 kit from J&T for $450,however their website is under contruction.Here is a stripped lower from rbprecision for $90 plus shipping.You can build a good ar for about the same money as the keltec rifle.The su-16 does look sweet though,especially for a compact trunk gun.As for the durability,only time will tell.I would like to pick one up someday though.I have to say,havnt heard much bad about them,most that have them love them.
As for the mini,with the AWB going away and the ability to put a folding stock on it,wouldnt be a bad choice.Decent highcaps are easier to come by now,and there are quite a few easy mods to help with accuracy.Good Luck.
Link Posted: 12/17/2005 6:12:36 PM EDT
[#3]