Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/14/2017 11:14:47 AM EDT
I have been researching NV and thermal off and on for a couple of years now trying to make a decision. Thermal is really starting to drop in price, so my question is - for a beginner, does it make sense to just start with thermal instead of NV?

I am looking to purchase in the next several months with a budget around $2k to $2400.

Any advice for a beginner to get good technology at a reasonable price.

Thanks!
Link Posted: 10/14/2017 11:16:58 AM EDT
[#1]
Thermal for detection and I2 for identification/navigation.

I started with I2 and I’ll eventually be adding a FLIR TWS (one of the new closes expensive Boson core devices, if they ever drop).
Link Posted: 10/14/2017 12:02:28 PM EDT
[#2]
If I were in a "you can only have one" situation, it would be NV, absolutely no questions asked.

Thermal is an absolutely awesome tool... for detection and engagement. If that's all you're worried about, then perhaps thermal is all you need.

NV allows for movement, stealth, positive ID, navigation, etc.

As I've said before, if all you're concerned about is hunting hogs and 'yotes from a fixed/semi-fixed position on your own property and/or terrain that you know well, thermal alone may be enough for you.

But if you're trying to be prepared for anything beyond that, whether it's a natural disaster that knocks out the power, or full-on Red Dawn scenarios, then NV will be infinitely more useful--because ultimately, detecting and engaging is only a small part of what you need to be able to do in the dark.

~Augee
Link Posted: 10/14/2017 12:55:30 PM EDT
[#3]
Both?
Link Posted: 10/14/2017 2:36:45 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Thermal for detection and I2 for identification/navigation.

I started with I2 and I’ll eventually be adding a FLIR TWS (one of the new closes expensive Boson core devices, if they ever drop).