Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 7/2/2003 7:27:54 AM EDT
I just got my C&R license and I'm looking to buy my first gun with it in about 2 weeks. Question is, what to buy? Here are my choices: Yugo SKS, M44, CZ52. The M44 is the cheapest at 70-80 from AIM Surplus. I can get the SKS for around $140 and the CZ52 for $110. What would be the best to start with? These are going to be shooters. I have read the SKS is a very nice rifle to shoot but since it's the most expensive on the list, I would like to wait on it and get the M44 first but I thought I would check with those who know more about this before I made the plunge.
Second, AIM has a "wrapped" M44 for $69.95. Are these good rifles? I am brand new to all this so I don't want to buy something and get a nasty suprise like it needs alot of work (cleaning, ect.) before it's good to go. Thanks for all the help.
Link Posted: 7/2/2003 7:41:41 AM EDT
Most surplus C&Rs require a good bit of cleaning before you are ready to go. Usally they are caked in cosmoline , but that is part of the charm of cruffling. Personally I would get the SKS out of that list (cause I already have a CZ52 and M44 )
Link Posted: 7/2/2003 12:45:43 PM EDT
CZ52, the ability to mail order a handgun over the phone is so kewl. That and the gun itself is a real hoot to shoot and a heck of an attention getter. The Yugos are interesting too but also consider rifles like the M48/M48a, The Swiss K31 and the Enfields. All are inexpensive and fun.
Link Posted: 7/2/2003 4:58:50 PM EDT
well, if you have easy access to a rifle range, i'd say go w/ the sks. common cartridge (share w/ an ak), semi-auto, 10 round fixed mag (20 w/ the chinese replacement). the m44 is a bit hinkier - not so much for the faint of heart.

if you don't have access to a rifle range - cz52 all the way; cause you're going to *have* to shoot it as soon as you get it, and waiting around is a killer.