Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 1/12/2006 9:05:44 PM EDT
I want a 45 1911 but I dont know which one. I was looking to spend less than $750.00 Total but prefer to keep it less than $600.00. I know the old addage you get what you pay for this will pretty much be a fun toy, range gun. But in the case of SHTF it might be used. I am brand new to 1911's and dont know which ones are good. I am reading all of this stuff about MIM and how some say its OK for some parts and others disagree to both extremes of the sprctrum. So I am a little cornfused as to which one to buy. I dont CCW because I just avoid those places that you need to be packing. And mostly because of my jobs I'm not allowed to carry there either. So in a nut shell this 45 will pretty much be a fun toy, range gun, plinker. I dont shoot in competitions nor do I now or ever will. I just want to make sure that the gun that I buy isnt a total POS and one that will last me. If MIM is not that bad of a thing which gun should I get I always thought that Kimber was the shit. But as I read some of these threads it appears to me that damn near all of the guts are all made from MIM. But a colt from what I hear is not? And this colt can be had brand new for around $600 OTD? Thanks.
Link Posted: 1/12/2006 9:17:14 PM EDT
I got a Springfield Mil-Spec for $560 OTD. In CA. Functioned flawlessly, except for the fact that I got horrible hammer bite from it.

They're as budget as you get.
Link Posted: 1/12/2006 9:29:01 PM EDT
This is the gun I was actually thinking about getting but from what I read the whole gun is MIM on the inside.
Link Posted: 1/12/2006 11:51:44 PM EDT