Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/13/2003 8:43:52 PM EDT

First off, I am a police officer and a SWAT team operator.  I have a stainless Para LDA 16.40 law enforcement version (bobbed hammer).  I've had the pistol for almost 2 years now, and have loved every minute of it....until :  I was getting ready for work one night and was checking my equipment.  I racked the slide on the LDA and dry-fired it.  When I racked the slide to the rear again, the Firing Pin Stop fell off the rear of the slide and on to the floor !!!  The firing pin had not reset.  I put the Firing Pin Stop back in place and pressed the plunger under the slide and the firing pin popped back in to place and held the Firing Pin Stop in place as it should.  I thought everything was OK, but I racked the slide several more times and the Firing Pin Stop fell out again.  I then sent the pistol back to Para for repair, which was very fast. I had the gun back in exactly 1 week, including shipping time.  I shot the gun approximately 150 more times, and the same problem  occured.  What the Hell ???  Has anyone heard of this before ??? How can it be fixed ??? I'm calling Para in the morning and demand a new slide at minimum and hopefully a new pistol.  That is rediculous !!! An $800 pistol that won't shoot after factory repair work.   Can you feel my pain ???
Let me hear from you 1911 people.

Thanks

Link Posted: 10/14/2003 5:42:42 AM EDT
[#1]
Well, based on my experience within our IDPA group I would say your experience is par for the course.  If any gun is going to act up in a match its going to be a 1911, and chances are pretty good it will be a Para.  I really don't understand why those things are so popular.  I've seen to many of them choke on the firing line for me to trust them.

Link Posted: 10/14/2003 6:01:05 AM EDT
[#2]