Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/3/2006 1:29:23 PM EDT
Sometime this year, I want to build a complete 1911 from scratch.  I figured a good starting point would be identifiying a suitable frame and slide.

As I understand it, Chip McCormick is no longer making frames and slides.  Neither is Nowlin.  So, from what I can tell, my options for a bare frame is Baer, Caspian, or STI.

The Baer frame/slide combo in Brownells come prefitted, with 30LPI checkering.  Since I don't like 30 LPI checkering, and I wanted to fit the frame and slide myself, I'm not really interested in this.

The Caspian frame usually gets good reviews.  However, I've heard that you should only buy the frame as is, with no beavertail cuts, checkering, etc.  I've heard the same of their slides.

I have no experience with the STI frame sold by Brownells www.brownells.com/aspx/NS/store/ProductDetail.aspx?p=19607&title=1911+AUTO+LSA+PREMIER+FULL-SIZED+FRAMES.  It looks to be of good quality, comes with a .250 radius cut, beveled mag well, and high cut front strap.  Being forged is a plus, and the price isn't bad either.  Does anyone have experience with these STI frames?

Are there any other frame recommendations?  I really want to do a complete build, and not start with a donor pistol to customize (already doing some of that).

Thanks,
Link Posted: 1/3/2006 3:25:40 PM EDT
[#1]