Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/30/2003 1:50:29 PM EDT
I have been shooting Beretta's for about 11 years now(military M-9) and finally picked one up. Why did Beretta get cheap and put a plastic recoil spring guide and mainspring cap/lanyard in the 92's? If I'm paying for a Beretta, I expect more. I'll begrudgingly replace those parts, and other than that I love it, but thats some cheap ass shit!
Link Posted: 4/30/2003 1:58:39 PM EDT
[#1]
gee, must be somethin' "new" ???????  only "plastic" on my 92F is the grips. hmmmmmmm
Link Posted: 4/30/2003 2:36:38 PM EDT
[#2]
Same here, no plastic parts on my 92FS either except for the grips.

Did you buy this Beretta new?

ArmaLiter
Link Posted: 4/30/2003 5:46:29 PM EDT
[#3]
As near as I can tell Beretta went to the plastic guide rods either this year or last.  I was fondling a new 96 and when the gunshop let me fieldstrip it I discovered the plastic guide rod.  I love my 92FS and was reaching for the wallet to snag the 96.

My first reaction was the same as CATM's, but then I thought "what the heck, my Glocks have plastic guide rods and they run fine."  

I am sure that 0.002 of an ounce lighter gun due to the plastic guide rod will really let me carry a 96 for many more hours than I would have otherwise.  Yeah, right. Still, the plastic peeved me enough that I passed on the 96.
Link Posted: 4/30/2003 10:59:55 PM EDT
[#4]
They've been adopting some plastic parts in the past year or so.  The guide rod is fine, and it is supposed to be better than steel.  More lubrous/slick and it stays black even if it gets scratched up.  I didn't know about the mainspring cap/lanyard ring.  But the left side safety lever is plastic as well.

It's not just Beretta either.  For example, the mainspring housing on Kimber pistols is plastic too.
Link Posted: 5/1/2003 6:38:40 AM EDT
[#5]

I didn't know about the mainspring cap/lanyard ring.