Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/20/2006 7:06:01 AM EDT
I am new to SIGs and new to CCWs, but plan on getting the 239 very soon.  Would it be smart to go with the DAK for a carry pistol or stick with the standard SIG trigger?  Is this purely preference or is there reasoning behind this?

Thanks

Phil
Link Posted: 1/20/2006 8:28:07 AM EDT
[#1]
I'd say preference myself.
Link Posted: 1/20/2006 11:32:17 AM EDT
[#2]
It really depends on what you are comfortable with. Personally I am carrying a Equinox which has the standard trigger.
Link Posted: 1/20/2006 12:18:07 PM EDT
[#3]
Personal prefs.

The only external difference is the bobbed hammer on the DAK making it a touch smoother overall.  I've never had an issue with a hammer catching on anything, I've carried a 220 and now a 229R DAK.  Never had any issues with either.

If you haven't shot the DAK definately do before you buy, it feels a bit different than most other auto actions.
Link Posted: 1/20/2006 8:31:07 PM EDT
[#4]
This is strictlly personal preference.  I am fairly certain my opinion is in the minority but I will share it with you anyway.  I have always been a big fan of DAO for carry purposes.  I know there is nothing that feels as nice as a custom SA trigger on a 1911 (BTDT), but I just don't like the added "issues" of carrying SA pistols.  Especially if it isn't possible to train with it regularly.

My quest for the perfect carry weapon went like this:

The first gun I carried was a Colt Gov't Model 1911.  Wonderful pistol and I am a huge fan of the 1911.  I just never liked carrying "cocked and locked".  You also add a step in deploying the weapon with the need to disengage the manual safety.  

My next pistol I carried was a Sigma. A DAO, striker fired pistol in .40 S&W.  I liked the DAO aspect with no manual safeties, but I hated the trigger.