Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 3/3/2006 3:50:51 PM EDT
When I first started carrying (actually before) I studied a lot of theory about situational awareness, conflict avoidance, and group dynamics. A preparedness psychology goes well beyond what is required to simply use a weapon. In theory, the better prepared we are, the less we may find ourselves in a shooting situation. When I got my license, there was a difference in the way I watched things in public. It was kind of like when I first started driving a motorcycle...constantly scanning, looking at things I normally wouldnt....trying to imagine what possibilities might exist based on possible outcomes of potential actions.....always contemplating the what if's with everything I saw. After a while, it becomes second nature...the behaviour stays the same, but its much less stressful and more just a function of who I was. Lately (tonight in particular) I got to thinking that with time I have sort of changed my default behaviours without trying to. I carry a lot of the time, but not all. I work over the border in unfriendly territory, and as a result, have just me and my benchmade. While it is a responsibility and a requirement to be vigilant while carrying a weapon...before I ever did, I didnt think much about conflict avoidance or study my surroundings when I was out and about. These days, those things just never get turned off. whether I am armed or not, I take in the environment as though my life depends on it.....because in the grand scheme of things, it does. That not to say I obsess about who is doing what, but I still notice that now, even when i dont have a weapon, I do the same things that I would be doing if I did. The behaviour has become the norm.