Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Pistols/SBR
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 5/28/2017 10:55:26 PM EDT
I've gone back through the 3 pages that I'm allowed to research and don't find the answer but I'm guessing it has probably been covered before.
While using a thread adapter, even with it tightened all the way up, it still has some wobble to it and I fear a baffle strike or catastrophic failure even with an overbore .338 can.
I've read all about re-threading the barrel to match the 5/8x24 threads of the can. I'm not really wanting to put that much into it as the can on the PAP is just an afterthought and not it's primary purpose.

Has anyone placed shims between the face of the barrel and the thread adapter to take out the  play? Of course check bullet path with a dowel or rod before even thinking about any live fire.

Please pardon my ignorance on the subject. I'm new to the AK world as well as suppressor. The can was purchased to be used on a 338lm host as well as on my 7mm rem mag. Just figured if I could use it on my m92 and also then why not.

If I can figure out a safe way to make this work, the next thing to address will probably be over gassing.
Link Posted: 5/29/2017 5:59:30 AM EDT
[#1]
The best thing to do is to have the factory threads chopped, and the actual barrel threaded 1/2-28. Morgan (eastxhunter) did mine. you migh also want to read THIS
Link Posted: 5/29/2017 7:48:18 AM EDT
[#2]
x2. Send it to Morgan. He did all my AKs.
Link Posted: 5/29/2017 10:05:30 AM EDT
[#3]
Thanks for the replies fellas. Like I said, I really don't want to have to turn it down. I already have a 4 piece flash hider with the 26mm lh threads that I plan on using as well as the thread adapter. Just figured if I could use the can safely without any permanent modifications to the weapon , I would give it a try.
Link Posted: 5/29/2017 3:08:02 PM EDT
[#4]