Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 3/27/2006 12:42:45 AM EDT
I'm pretty new to the AK scene and I've seen a lot of Yugo kits discribed as "dark bore". What exactly does that mean?
Link Posted: 3/27/2006 2:24:47 AM EDT
I always thought it meant they were not chrome lined and pitted due to corrosive ammo, but I could be wrong.
Link Posted: 3/27/2006 2:48:53 AM EDT
That's Centerfire's new marketing term for pitte and corroded.

take care,
tec
Link Posted: 3/27/2006 4:30:05 AM EDT
a tan fellow who's not very entertaining.
hippie.gif
Link Posted: 3/27/2006 5:06:06 AM EDT
"Dark Bore" is a recent term of art, like "matching numbers, except bolt, which matches itself" indicating just how low the sellers have become and how desparate buyers are.

This is bottom-barrel stuff that wouldn't have sold years ago.
Link Posted: 3/27/2006 5:39:33 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 3/27/2006 10:12:29 AM EDT by Crowcreek]

A dark bore means you can't see any light when you look through it.

This is a minor consideration which is easily offset by desirable features such as grenade-launching sights, gas-regulating valves, stock carvings, and night sights.

ETA:
Link Posted: 3/27/2006 7:16:09 AM EDT
Link Posted: 3/27/2006 9:47:57 AM EDT
The description listed on a Yugo kit from Htownimports says "Parts Are In Good- To Very Good Condition ( Dark Bore) ". How can parts be good-very good if the barrel is pitted or corroded? Just seems misleading if you ask me.
Link Posted: 3/27/2006 10:02:02 AM EDT
The problem with the term "dark bore" is that you have no idea what's under that darkness. The barrel could possibly be in great shape or it could have major pitting and errosion. The only way to tell is to thoroughly clean out the barrel of all the gunk which is something that most sellers don't do prior to selling them.
Link Posted: 3/27/2006 10:07:22 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 3/27/2006 10:11:55 AM EDT by Crowcreek]

Originally Posted By JDizzle: