Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 10/25/2003 6:16:18 AM EDT
I'm new to AK's, so pardon this question if it seems like a waste of time for you guys.

What are the best mags for the Russian Izhmash? The gun is on its way to my FFL from SOG and I want to be all set up when it gets here. I ordered 30 rnd Bulgy waffles from K-var...and want to get more now that they are dirt cheap! I just want to make sure they will work before ordering a bunch of them.

If this belongs in the mag section, just move it, but I was hoping it would get more exposure here. I don't want to lose out on K-var's prices.
Link Posted: 10/25/2003 6:25:46 AM EDT
To be honest,I've never had a problem with any AK mags that were not bent.Several years ago I got some from a friend that still had sand in them,one had bent feed lips and was the only one I had trouble with.
Link Posted: 10/25/2003 6:49:24 AM EDT
i haven't seen anything here in the forum about AK's being finicky or anything. Just wondering, though. Anybody else have issues?
Link Posted: 10/25/2003 7:08:27 AM EDT
Tango any AK mag will work great.Unless its a USA copy .Any ,Chinese,Romanian,Hungarian,Russian,Bulgarian­, ect... You get the pic. I buy what cheapest.New mags for under $10 is what I look for.I did buy 10ea used mags from Tenn guns awhile back for $% ea to have some worn looking mags. They all function fine.Clean & Lube your rifle when you get it. Enjoy your rifle and congrads, WarDawg
Link Posted: 10/25/2003 7:36:37 AM EDT
Yeah ak mags are tough. I have never had an issue with ANY ak mag since i've been shooting ak's (around 1989).
Link Posted: 10/25/2003 8:33:16 AM EDT