Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 2/22/2006 2:40:08 PM EDT
Hi,

Building my first AR and will be buying a rear stock assembly.  Is it worth the $15 to upgrade to a hydraulic buffer over the spring system?  Thanks.
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 3:04:07 PM EDT
[#1]
I've no experience with a hydraulic one, but the spring one works fine for me and most people I know.

It's also handy as once you get used to the noise you can tell when your magazine is empty by the sound the rifle makes.
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 3:13:57 PM EDT
[#2]
Thank you much.  I haven't even fired an AR yet.  I bought a PLR-16 a month ago and love the thing.  But it told be it needed a friend.  So I figured an AR might keep it company.  It didn't like my AK too much, I have to keep them seperated.
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 3:19:13 PM EDT
[#3]
Well, I hope you enjoy it!
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 3:20:30 PM EDT
[#4]
Most hydraulic buffers are a lot more than $15, so if you can get one for that price don't pass it up, I have an Enidine Hyd. buffer in my carbine, it reduces the recoil somewhat, and muzzle rise but there isn't much recoil anyway, so they aren't a must have kinda thing, but for that price get it.
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 3:29:21 PM EDT
[#5]
Actually it is a $15 add-on option.  They keep the spring buffer when you purchase the stock assembly but give you a hydraulic one for an extra $15.
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 3:49:59 PM EDT
[#6]
With an enidine hyd. buffer you still need the spring, and they run around $80, if you can get a hydraulic buffer for $15 I would get it.
Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!

Sign up for the ARFCOM weekly newsletter and be entered to win a free ARFCOM membership. One new winner* is announced every week!