Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/20/2003 3:23:51 PM EDT
Hey All,

For a while I've been lusting over a RRA Varmint Model, (like the one in last months American Rifleman) and recently I got the idea of building one myself.  I can't foot the cash for a complete rifle, and I expect that it'll take me a while to buy all the parts.  I'm a grad student, and it'll be easier to buy a piece at a time, than the whole rifle, so I expect it to take a couple of years.  It'll also raise fewer eyebrows with my fiancee if I sneak it in a piece at a time...  :) ("Honey what'er ya doing?)  Needless to say, I want to try to build a quality, "tack driver," with some inevitable concessions because I'm on a budget.  

So, I thought I'd solicite some advice from everyone here.  First off, I think I've decided on the RRA forged lower housing.  Is this the best piece for the money?  Will the reciever have a huge impact on the ultimate accuracy?  Then what would you recommend for a trigger?  The RRA NM?  Is there a better trigger for the money?  All of my other guns have had trigger jobs to break at around 2 1/2 to 3 pounds, or (like my Kimber .45) have come with competiton triggers.

I'm gonna want to mount a scope, so an A4 style upper is probably the choice.  Any suggestions?  Then, is there any real advantage to a Chrome or TiN coated Bolt Carrier?  Would you recommend putting together the upper myself or saving up for a while and buying it?  Is there any real advantage of the 24" barrel over a 20"?  Light weight won't be a serious issue for me.  And what manufacturer would you recommend?  

And finally, where do you buy most of your parts?  The Gun List, gun shows, a local dealer, online?  And does anyone know of anyone in the Piedmont region of NC who specializes in these sorts of things?  Any good guides on doing it right (especially the upper).

Thanks in advance.