Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 5/5/2003 5:06:14 PM EDT
OK, so I messed up. I was taking my AR apart and during assembly when I closed the bold and cycled the rifle I saw a minor part laying in front of me ...the firing pin. So when i go to break open the rifle it seems that I cant open it because the ejector is stuck forward in the bolt carrier and the bolt wont move forward enough to clear the rear ring of the receiver so I cant slide the lower off the upper. I have tried everything, so i guess that maybe I can take the barrel assembly off to slide the bolt out the front. Is this easy to do? I have an M4forgery by bushmaster.

Thanks for your help

---A bit embarassed
Link Posted: 5/5/2003 5:09:58 PM EDT
If you can't push the bolt forward with the forward assist, you can always disengage the takedown and pivot pins, and slide the upper off the lower that way.
Link Posted: 5/5/2003 5:14:26 PM EDT
It sounds like you are trying to pivot the upper and lower apart to break it open, Instead, pop out the front pivot pin at the same time as the takedown pin, then the upper receiver can move forward, up and off instead of pivoting apart. I don't know if the forward assist may drive the bolt more into a stuck position-- can't tell by your description, so drive out both takedown pins. Hope this helps, Otto
Link Posted: 5/5/2003 5:14:49 PM EDT
what he said
Link Posted: 5/5/2003 5:15:04 PM EDT
The pivot pins are out, its still stuck because the rear of the bolt protrudes enough to be in the rear ring of the lower....
Link Posted: 5/5/2003 5:15:23 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 5/5/2003 5:24:54 PM EDT by otto_esq]