Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/30/2002 1:27:32 PM EDT
Hey all, I'm a newbie, this is a great website, I have learned a lot since first visiting last week. I have a question and need some advise.

I have a new Colt Comp Match HBar, flat-top, been using the iron sites for plunking, crow shooting..and I wanted to purchase a scope. Dont have a huge budget, and I wanted magnification, mainly to get the crows out a bit longer range.

I was considering the Leapers 3-9 x 28 tactical scope (over at Tapco.com) and was gonna mount it on top of my removable carry handle, just cause it was cheaper and looks to put this rather small scope right where it needs to be.

Am I going wrong here? Leapers product any good ($75)? Any advise would be appreciated. I am new to the AR-15 world so pardon my ignorance so to speak, thanks.
Link Posted: 10/30/2002 1:42:35 PM EDT
[#1]
I would try to stay away from Leaper.  I understand the budget point of view, but the 70 dollars you pay will be like throwing money in the trash can.  Leupold have a Vari-X2 tactical scope for around 320 dollars, with a nice Armalite, or Rock River flat top mount you are into it for about 400 dollars.  I know this is a lot more then 75 dollars, but this will give you a quality optic with 3-9x40 capability, a scope that will last as long as you own the gun, a scope that will retain zero shot after shot, a scope with clarity that can only be rival by more expensive Euro scope and the added shooting time in low light hours.  Mounting to the flat top will give you much better cheek weld, a better zero for longer distance, and bring the scope closer to bore to eliminate any parallax problem.  Foir 400 dollars, you will have a excellent rifle scope combo that will enable you to plink crows all day long.

Link Posted: 10/30/2002 2:04:22 PM EDT
[#2]