Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/1/2006 5:35:27 PM EDT
I can buy some local from a small gun shop. It is rare that he even has any. It is British black tipped in bandoleers. I think he said 20 round boxes. I did not find any info: with a search. How is it as far as ammo goes?
Link Posted: 3/1/2006 6:02:44 PM EDT
[#1]
Black tip?  Did the Brits ever paint their SS109 tips?  All the recent Radway Green SS109 that has been floating around has no painted tips.  
Link Posted: 3/1/2006 7:46:23 PM EDT
[#2]
Yeah I do not know much about ammo for the .223 as far as what is desireable etc... I am on a budjet but do not want Wolf. I have been buying WWB "Israel" from Wal-Mart. I also have 500 rounds of handloaded 55 grain Nosler Ballistic Tip, and 300 handloaded 55 grain V-Max. He said Black tip. I will go check it out tomorrow.
Link Posted: 3/1/2006 9:06:08 PM EDT
[#3]
I am no expert, so it could very well be British.  I know some foreign countries painted their SS109 with black tips.
Link Posted: 3/2/2006 12:00:18 AM EDT
[#4]
We don't paint our RG ammuntion with black tips, if it has black tips and is stamped RG or RORG on the case it has been painted on after the fact.

If it doesn't have RG or RORG on the case then it is either

1)It is painted on after the fact
or
2)It is NATO designated AP in 5.56mm which, I think, is prohibited in the US?

It is also issued in BDR's or CTN's not 20 round CTN's in BDR's ......

US ammunition is on strippers in cardboard in the BDR's
UK ammuntion is on strippers in the BDR's
Link Posted: 3/2/2006 1:27:56 AM EDT
[#5]
i bought 150 rds british SS109 the other week, it was not painted at all, packed in stripper clips in a bandoleer
Link Posted: 3/2/2006 6:43:30 AM EDT
[#6]