Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/14/2002 10:45:52 PM EDT
Hey all,
I'm pretty new at reloading 223 and I made a try last evening : I put 40 and 45 grainers from Sierra and Hornady.
What can I expect from a 14.5 M4 barrel ?
Thanks
Link Posted: 10/15/2002 8:27:14 AM EDT
[#1]
What do you mean?  Accuracy?  Velocity?

Your reloading manual should give you a decent idea of the muzzle velocity.  Accuracy could be anywhere from great to crap depending on the load.

Take the posted velocity from the manual, and reduce it by about 300-400 fps to accomodate for the difference in action and barrel length.

Want exact numbers?  Get a Chronograph.
Link Posted: 10/15/2002 10:17:44 AM EDT
[#2]
Just back from the range:
Accuracy at close range (50 yds) seems Ok but it's too close to figure out.
Penetration is OK, I shot a 8mm steel plate and it's now out of order !
It seems that penetration is greater than 55s
I shot at the same time, might be faster but I couldn't take my chrono with me to  check .
I was afraid of accuracy because the bullet is just slighlty hold by the neck but I must try at longer range.

Link Posted: 10/15/2002 12:28:06 PM EDT
[#3]
While your penetration of steel plates is fairly good with light fast projectiles, you will find that that doesn't translate to good penetration in soft targets.

If you are looking for deep penetration against the Animal Kingdom, than you are using the wrong bullet.  The bullets you listed (I'm guessing Blitzkreig and V-Max respectively) won't penetrate deeply in flesh.  They will, instead, violently fragment.  These rounds will retain virtually no mass after initial impact.  That makes these bullets very useful at dispatching small animals at a variety of ranges, but on larger targets, the rounds will fail to penetrate deeply.