Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Basics
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/19/2017 12:28:59 PM EDT
Hey guys I picked up two new bolts for my rifles one is a daniel defense and one is a BCM. Both great bolt carrier groups however I have a question I hope someone can answer. On the DD bolt you can see a thick chrome plating without taking the carrier out but on the bcm you cant see anything unless you take the carrier out and then its just a little chrome lining. What is the difference and is the bcm not considered chrome lined?
Link Posted: 9/19/2017 1:50:56 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 9/19/2017 2:00:46 PM EDT
[#2]
I will post two pictures of what I mean to give some context I am somewhat new to the top tier ar parts so I am just trying to learn as much as I can.  In the last image that thick silver lining is different on the dd than the bcm why is that? DD BCG BCM
Link Posted: 9/19/2017 7:33:40 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
Hey guys I picked up two new bolts for my rifles one is a daniel defense and one is a BCM. Both great bolt carrier groups however I have a question I hope someone can answer. On the DD bolt you can see a thick chrome plating without taking the carrier out but on the bcm you cant see anything unless you take the carrier out and then its just a little chrome lining. What is the difference and is the bcm not considered chrome lined?
View Quote

The BCM bolt, and the BCM bolt carrier are mil-spec parts, built per the TDP.

What do you mean when you say "you can't see anything unless take the carrier out"? You seem confused about what you are attempting to talk about. Can you post pictures of the individual parts you are concerned with?
Link Posted: 9/19/2017 8:52:26 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 9/19/2017 10:44:38 PM EDT
[#5]
I would imagine variation in application.  FWIW, I've seen that much variation in factory carriers pulled from the same top tier brand.
Link Posted: 9/19/2017 10:52:34 PM EDT
[#6]