Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Variants
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/29/2017 8:48:25 PM EDT
bought a cheap one and it won't time properly.

Recommendations on muzzle attachments for my new AR 308?

18" Faxon Fluted BB

thanks

AtotheR
Link Posted: 9/29/2017 9:14:34 PM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
bought a cheap one and it won't time properly.

Recommendations on muzzle attachments for my new AR 308?

18" Faxon Fluted BB

thanks

AtotheR
View Quote
Won't time using a crush washer or peel washer?
Link Posted: 9/29/2017 10:01:40 PM EDT
[#2]
Honestly I have never done it before with a crush washer so it might work but it needs to go around nearly an entire 360 degrees....

Its sort of like a jerry miculek but with a crush washer and it doesn't have a space to put a wrench on it so I believe they use a metal punch running through the side openings to tighten the brake down on the washer.  I would need to use a punch with a bar over the end to begin to crush the washer....
Link Posted: 9/30/2017 12:47:09 AM EDT
[#3]
Crush washers are designed to let you go nearly 360 degrees around, if needed, so that part of it wouldn't be a problem at least.
Link Posted: 9/30/2017 12:54:23 AM EDT
[#4]
I am just going to have to see the best way to leverage the rifle to torque the washer down....will report back later this week.

I am looking at an M4-72 severe duty compensator from Precision Arms if this doesn't work out....anyone have others they would recommend?  I found a real miculek for $60 new.
Link Posted: 9/30/2017 1:44:46 AM EDT
[#5]
Ive never had one that didn't work with the right size washer...however that said
there are so many better ones out there...like self the timing ones.
Link Posted: 9/30/2017 3:49:56 AM EDT
[#6]
All you need can be found HERE.

FWIW, I put the Precision Armament M4-72 Severe Duty Compensator on my Aero Precision build, and it's a-w-e-s-o-m-e!
Link Posted: 9/30/2017 6:59:03 AM EDT
[#7]