Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/25/2003 1:12:29 AM EDT
I'm ready to upgrade my trigger. I want single stage for target/plinking/varmint control.I've narrowed it donw to JP or JARD. Any opinions/advantages of one vs. the other? Thanks.
Link Posted: 11/26/2003 8:08:50 AM EDT
[#1]
I have no experience with the Jard, but have built 2 rifles with the complete JP single-stage fire control system, including their anti-walk pins.  

I am completely satisfied with the performance.  There is very, very little takeup (this is adjustable, but don't recommend getting too little sear engagement, not safe), pull is 3 lb 1 oz, break is clean, overtravel is adjustable.

It is not a drop-in system but easy to get set-up.  The instructions provided with the system are very easy to follow.  Some simple hand tools are necessary to disassemble/assemble the components. You may need to file the back of the trigger to get the proper selector engagement.  Not a big deal.

I would recommend you either use JP's pins or get some slighty oversize pins from someone like [url]http://www.kagerind.com/Kager_Static_Home/S-gun_sights/s-gun_sights2.htm[/url].  The absence of "slop" in the trigger and hammer means reliable, repeatable break.

For two-stage systems, I believe that the Jewell system can't be beat.

Some people on this board whine about adjustment setscrews that may loosen up, but if the parts are completely degreased and properly LocTite'd during setup and assembly you will not have a problem.  Good triggers require the ability to adjust them properly during installation.  This mandates moveable setscrews to achieve final settings.  That's a fact of life.  The manufacturing tolerances in the wide variety of lowers being made these days make a true drop-in trigger system that REALLY performs well (very precise) an impossible thing to design and build.
Link Posted: 11/26/2003 6:34:58 PM EDT
[#2]