Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 9/10/2010 5:57:20 PM EDT
So I just fired my first ar15 yesterday using my new built gun. I sighted in my iron sights ( i think) against a 50 yard target. With the gun at the bench I got the rounds to get really close and sometimes hit dead center bullseye. I started shooting round after round after round at the target, and got every single round inside the black of the target but they were still everywhere. I would say my best groups were like 4-6 inch groups. Is this normal for a shooter that is new like me or should the shots be alot tighter at 50 yards? I feel like I suck but do not know if I should expect this or not at bench rest. I sure have a new found big respect to experienced shooters. This was alot harder than I thought it was gonna be. But, fucken fun as hell.
Link Posted: 9/10/2010 5:59:14 PM EDT
[#1]
Keep practicing and concentrate more on your technique than your target results. Time and a good trigger will tell.
Also practice at the 50 yard mark for a while then move out.
Link Posted: 9/10/2010 6:02:04 PM EDT
[#2]
Practice makes perfect.  Have a buddy shoot your rifle to confirm it's you / provide a humbling reaffirmation if you want.  I'm no sharpshooter –– the only metric I care about is "minute of bad guy's chest at 100 yards or less."
Link Posted: 9/10/2010 6:05:50 PM EDT
[#3]
Thats what sucks. I dont have any "buddys" who shoot. I am a lone ranger when it comes to this addiction among my social acquaintances and my family. So I have no resources at all.
Link Posted: 9/10/2010 6:09:02 PM EDT
[#4]
That is OK shooting for a new shooter.  Practice and focus on breathing and trigger control.  Take your time and have fun.

Link Posted: 9/10/2010 6:11:02 PM EDT
[#5]