Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 3/15/2006 1:47:18 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 3/15/2006 2:32:47 PM EDT by TDB]
Hey guys,
I'm almost done with my first AR and am looking to get a sling for it. I've pretty well decided on the Specter SOP, but had a couple questions as to how it mounts exactly.

First, my rifle (well, my upper on BadSVT's lower):
http://www.dfwls1.com/hosting/albums/userpics/10228/20.jpg

It's a YHM standard free float.

I'm thinking I need the #133 sling?
www.spectergear.com/sop_sling.htm

My question is the forward mount. Like I said, I'm a noob, but wouldn't attaching the sling to the FSB defeat the purpose of free floating the barrel? Will this sling work with a sling stud in the free float tube? Fixed or swivel?
yankeehill.bizland.com/store/media/YHM-9469.jpg
yankeehill.bizland.com/store/media/YHM-9476.jpg

Pictures would be great.

Thanks.
Link Posted: 3/15/2006 1:49:21 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 3/15/2006 1:51:09 PM EDT by ironsight-boy]
Yes it would work just as well on a QD stud with attachment. And yes, attaching a sling to your barrel will change the harmonics, even if only a minute amount.

Erm btw, if you were free-floating the barrel why did you bother with a bayonet stud and sling swivel on the gas block?
Link Posted: 3/15/2006 1:53:37 PM EDT

Originally Posted By ironsight-boy:
Yes it would work just as well on a QD stud with attachment. And yes, attaching a sling to your barrel will change the harmonics, even if only a minute amount.

Erm btw, if you were free-floating the barrel why did you bother with a bayonet stud and sling swivel on the gas block?

Thanks. Am I correct in thinking the #133 is the one for me?

I bought the barrel used and it came with the YHM flip front sight.
Link Posted: 3/15/2006 5:34:54 PM EDT
anyone?
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 4:11:04 PM EDT
btt

Fixed or swivel sling mount? I figure fixed, since that's more the way the FSB mounted one would act?

And the #133?