Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/29/2005 3:01:17 AM EDT
I am new to the forum, and do not own an AR yet.  I have plenty of experience shooting them from the Army Infantry.   Also have a lot of friends with them, as I am a LEO, and a lot of officers have them.  I can shoot them, tear them down and clean them, and put them back together.  That is about the extent of my skills so far.

First, from what I have read so far, most uppers and lowers will fit, although some may need minor adjustments, and work together fine.  Kind of like a 1911.  Am I understanding this?

Next, you can buy a rifle several ways.....
A complete rifle
An upper and lower
Stripped upper and lowers with parts kits
I know that the complete rifle will probably be the most expensive way to go.  How much $$ can be saved buying a complete rifle as opposed to upper and lower, as opposed to stripped upper and lowers with parts kits?  Just would like a basic comparison to see where the differences are.

Next, barrel twists and lenghts.  Basically speaking, is 1:7 bette rthan 1:6, or better than 1:8 on the same lenght barrel?
Also, for my purposes, a 16" or 18" barrel would be best.  What twist works best with this barrel lenght?

As far as a couple option go, what is preferred?  I assume back-up iron sights, as posted on here.  Do all styles come with the military-style adjustable elevation and windage knobs?  

What is preferred as far as the carrying handle goes?  Do they both mount scopes?

From what I read, RRA and DPMS are reputible manufacturers.  Would I be a fool to purchase say, Bushmaster or Colt parts when others are availoable for less?  Are they all pretty much equal parts?

Thanks for taking the time to answer a few questions.  I have many handguns, but want to start exploring with ARs, and have no experience building or assembling.
Rob
Link Posted: 12/29/2005 3:13:04 AM EDT
[#1]