Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 12/9/2003 7:53:46 PM EDT
Is there such a thing as a Consumer Reports for firearms where fair comparisons are made? I would especially like to see comparisons of the AR15s.
Link Posted: 12/9/2003 9:32:37 PM EDT
Originally Posted By five2one: Is there such a thing as a Consumer Reports for firearms where fair comparisons are made? I would especially like to see comparisons of the AR15s.
View Quote
I am no expert on this, but I have seen copies of a friend's [url=www.gun-tests.com]Gun-Tests [/url] magazine and it looked promising. They didn't give every gun a "two-thumbs up". Some were actually rated "Don't Buy". I would have liked to see how my guns stacked up, but I don't subscribe (yet). I don't know what the popular opinion of that magazine is, however.
Link Posted: 12/9/2003 10:03:50 PM EDT
Gun Tests doesn't accept advertising, but sometimes I have to question their judgements on some things. Sometimes I think they compare apples to oranges. I do like the fact that they try products out and aren't afraid to report on breakdowns though. As far as I know, they are really the only publication seemingly not influenced by trade organizations or manufacturers.
Link Posted: 12/10/2003 2:59:54 AM EDT
Have subscribed to Gun Test since 1993 and it is the only magazine that I have kept every issue. They report every facet of the test accurately and some ain't pretty. Are they perfect in their appraisals? NO! Their tests are thorough. I have been a lifetime subscriber for the last 4 years.
Link Posted: 12/10/2003 3:07:38 AM EDT