Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 10/23/2003 10:42:00 PM EDT
Hi.

I have a post-ban Bushmaster M4 type (non-collapsable telestyle stock, Mini Y compensator instead of a "flash supressor" etc.)
http://www.anthonyjosephevans.com/gun/IM000429.JPG

I live in Washington state, and there are lots of great plinking places here. I like the range, but shooting at paper isn't as fun as breaking out the 30 round mags and letting $5 of ammo rip against ice blocks & watermelon as fast as I can.

I love my AR15, but I also love this girl I met who lives in Sacramento, and I'm planning on moving (Yes, she's worth it.) I've heard a few things about California gun laws, and I was wondering what my options are.

Can I even bring "Louise" (the name of my AR15) to California? If so, can I bring all the 30 round mags I've collected? And when I move my stuff across state lines, will they take her away from me? More important than that, is there ANY possibility of REAL "plinking" in California legally?

I admit I have a paranoia about California ASSAULT RIFLE LAW that makes me think that I'll be able to check her out at state-approved times with state supervision and I'll only be able to use a half-round mag at a time.

If anyone has any experience regarding AR15's and CA law, I'd appreciate anything you could tell me.

Thanks!

Anthony
Link Posted: 10/23/2003 11:06:09 PM EDT
I am not up on "all" the laws here in california. But, it is my understanding that you can NOT bring ANY magazines over 10 rounds into the state, PERIOD. You also can not bring your AR. Just as I can not sell or give my AR to anyone in the state. I have to sell it to someone out of state. Someone please correct me if I am wrong though.
Link Posted: 10/23/2003 11:09:33 PM EDT