Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/16/2003 5:26:49 PM EDT
Hello guys ! Im new to AR15.com and would like to say hello. I also have a question regarding a upcoming purchase. I have found a DPMS Lite 16" at a local gun shop and would like to know if its a decent rifle. The shop is going to sell it to me for 600.00 out the door. My main question, is this a good price for this specific rifle? How does this rifle compair to say a Oly arms Plinker or pcr-5? Any info would be helpfull. I can buy the rifle tomarrow or wait till Saturday and go to my local gun show here in Dayton Ohio. Im not sure if ill find a AR at the show for the price range i had in mind. All opinions are welcome and wanted.

Thanks,
   Robert
Link Posted: 10/16/2003 5:55:58 PM EDT
[#1]
Robert, I haven't a clue as to the value of the DPMS but - welcome to AR15.com; the finest board in all of gundom !!

(Someone here will know about the DPMS.)
Link Posted: 10/16/2003 5:58:25 PM EDT
[#2]
$600 out the door doesn't sound too bad. You can build one for about $550 so that's not bad at all being already put together with tax and all.  Personally I'd look for a standard 20" A2 for my first gun but the 16" isn't giving up too much compared to the 20".   Just be warned, once you get an AR and see all the parts and stuff that you can get/add on to it you'll be spending a butt load of money on you "baby".  It is a fun gun to play with, you can get a doz. different uppers and different stocks and use the same lower and make any kind of rifle you want out of an AR.  Hope this has been some help. Talk to ya' later.  TN.Frank
Link Posted: 10/16/2003 7:09:49 PM EDT
[#3]
[beer] Welcome!
Link Posted: 10/16/2003 7:14:21 PM EDT
[#4]
Not a bad price at all.  DPMS are decent rifles.  You won't have any problems with it.
Link Posted: 10/16/2003 7:18:57 PM EDT
[#5]
Sounds like a good price.  I'd go for it!