Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 8/18/2003 7:33:17 PM EDT
Can someone inform me about what exactly the feedramp on an AR is? Pics are VERY welcome. Assume I know nothing about an AR just so I'll be sure to understand.

(dang, hard to ask such a stupid question and not feel like a total newb)
Link Posted: 8/18/2003 7:42:28 PM EDT
On the barrel extension at about the 5:30 and 6:30 position you will see where there are 2 slots where the locking lugs widen out. These channel the bullet noses up into the chamber, hence the term feed ramps. (If you ever ate your own buggers you get this).
Link Posted: 8/18/2003 8:03:20 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 8/18/2003 8:06:32 PM EDT by YoungOne21]
Haha, great analogy [:)]. I should've known that though. I was wondering what those larger lug openings were for the first time I tore down my new carbine/first AR15. Much thanks man. So are there different types of feedramps? I noticed someone talking about M4 style ramps. Whats with that?
Link Posted: 8/18/2003 9:01:54 PM EDT
M4 feed ramps are a bit deeper, so that they can feed certain longer rounds more reliably. - Nw -
Link Posted: 8/18/2003 9:08:47 PM EDT
I've got a comparison picture for you YoungOne if someone can post it for me. IM me about it. E-95
Link Posted: 8/18/2003 9:17:16 PM EDT
Never mind. I found where Troy had been kind enough to post the photo: [img]http://photos.ar15.com/WS_Content/ImageGallery/IG_LoadImage.asp?iImageUnq=2881[/img] Clear it up for you YoungOne? E-95
Link Posted: 8/19/2003 9:25:54 AM EDT
Yep, I get it now. Thanks for the replies.
Link Posted: 8/19/2003 10:19:42 AM EDT
Originally Posted By E-95: Never mind. I found where Troy had been kind enough to post the photo: [url]http://photos.ar15.com/WS_Content/ImageGallery/IG_LoadImage.asp?iImageUnq=2881[/url] Clear it up for you YoungOne? E-95
View Quote