Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 5/12/2003 2:24:51 PM EDT
ok, so i got a new bushmaster carbine, with the (Y) comp and the pinned stock... total barrel length is 16 inches with chrome lined barrel.... i love the thing.... but now i want a long range shooter... one that will shoot the sellier and bellot ss109 ammo... olympic pretty much has me sold on their products and i am curios about the PCR1 and PCR8... the PCR1 is advertised as swat magazine calling it the most accurate semi auto offered.... HOWEVER it has a 1in10 barrel twist??? i forget if the S&B ss109 is 62 or 64 grain... but will 1in10 handle it???? they offer the PCR8 in 1/8 or 1/9 barrel twist.....????? which should i get if i will mainly be shooting S&B ss109... and please!!! i already know the difference between .223 and nato ammo.... i am just wondering if 1in10 twist really works for this ammo...or if maybe swat was using really light bullets when they did their test.... any opinions or knowledge would be helpful ... (brainstorming) on which to get...thanks//////
Link Posted: 5/12/2003 2:30:09 PM EDT
[#1]
You can shoot 62gr bullets from a 1 in 10" barrel, but given the choice, I'd opt for the 1 in 8" setup. It will stabilize the 62gr (and heavier) bullets and yet will shoot 55grainers just fine. Is that the only difference between the rifles?
Link Posted: 5/12/2003 2:33:12 PM EDT
[#2]
Who's SWAT team?? I'd look at RRA they make a nice CMP match rifle that is accurate as hell.  1 in 10 sounds completely wrong for heavy bullets, maybe this SWAT team was hunting prairie dogs.

Many folks in magazines say amything to sell copy and get advertizing.  Many writers get free or deeply discounted guns for saying they are great.  I'd take anything in print, especially something that said OLY made a decent gun, with a grain of salt.
Link Posted: 5/12/2003 3:06:20 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted: