Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 11/12/2002 8:15:35 PM EDT
I know it's been talked about here before but I can't seem to find the "search" option on the forum. What is the closest AR15 a civilian can buy that to military issue? I'm new to ARs and I figure the standard military issue specs would be a good place to start. So far I think I've narrowed it down to either the Bushmaster XM15 E2S M4 Type 16in Carbine or the XM15 E2S Shorty A3 16" Rifle from the homework I've done, but I'd like to know the military specs to see the differences from what I've spec'd out.... I'm mainly going to use it for plinking and recreational range use (until I really get bitten by the AR bug). This board must get tired of newcomer questions like this all the time. I apologize. :)

Link Posted: 11/12/2002 8:29:50 PM EDT
Any preban forged A2 configured AR15 lower with an A2 upper and a 20 inch HBAR.

That is as close as you are going to get to one since FN does not sell an AR15 and Clots either have blocks or the wrong sized holes or are A1 lowers.

If you are going postban then and you want a complete rifle that is close to a current military issue M16A2 then go with a Bushmaster or Armalite. They have chromed barrels.
Link Posted: 11/13/2002 7:32:55 AM EDT
Closest you can come to an issue rifle by buying a post-ban rifle is Bushmaster

1) either their 20" HBAR (with A2 fixed carryhandle)

2) or their M4 clone

With a post-ban you will be giving up the bayonet lug and the flash suppressor.

The Bushmaster 20" HBAR will come close - but to get it even closer you'll need to sent to to Kurts Kustom (in the industry section). SO he can
1) Reprofile that barrel to the proper govt A2 specification (it will make the barrel a full pound lighter - it will feel MUCH better).

2) have him add his A2 'tac' brake. It looks very much like the A2 flash suppressor - only its a muzzle brake the the muzzle end has a much smaller hole.