Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 9/21/2002 2:12:58 PM EDT
I have a preban Bushmaster with an 11.5 barrel and a 5.5" flash suppresor. I was looking at the ammo FAQ's on the sight and was alarmed by the fact of fragmentation and accuracy over more than 100yds. Is this the norm with such a short barrel. I admit my groupings at 200+ m are not exceptional but I am able to hit man size targets consistently at that range. However I am wondering if they will be ballistically effective at this range? I have been thinking of going to a flatop M4 upper, keeping the car of course. Just wondered if having the shorter barrel limits the rifle more in the field?
Link Posted: 9/21/2002 3:58:43 PM EDT
Accuracy and length have nothing to do with each other. The most accurate weapon I own is a Remington XP-100 bolt action pistol. It will shoot five shot dime size groups all day long.My 11" AR will shoot 3/4" groups at 100 yards easy.It all depends on what you want to use thre weapon for. Punching holes in paper or as a tactial or home defense weapon. I'm sure if I put a round through the head of someone in my home 20 to 30 feet away from me it would do enough damage to stop him.
Link Posted: 9/21/2002 8:04:28 PM EDT
The disadvantage to the short barrel ARs is not their accuracy. Its their short fragmentation range. The short barrels just dont give the round very much velocity to begin with.
Link Posted: 9/22/2002 5:57:46 AM EDT

Originally Posted By new-arguy:
The disadvantage to the short barrel ARs is not their accuracy. Its their short fragmentation range. The short barrels just dont give the round very much velocity to begin with.

new-arguy,