Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 1/30/2006 4:14:11 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 1/30/2006 4:15:01 PM EDT by easy610]
My Chief is interested in going to nylon duty gear and asked me to look into it. I've checked the local cop supply stores and checked out what a couple other local PDs are using. It seems all the gear I've checked out or seen in use wears poorly. The corners get frayed and the body of the individual piece gets crushed down (like your cuff case at the small of your back...).

Anyone have any other input or experience with manufacture I should look into?

I thought the Safari-Land laminate like used in the 6004 leg holster would be ideal...like a hard kydex-like material, but they don't make the entire line of needed items in that material...

Cheers and thanks for any input!
Link Posted: 1/30/2006 4:46:03 PM EDT
Believe it or not, I have been using the Galls brand nylon gear for a few years now and beside the belt keepers, it has held up nicely. For a holster I use a Safariland Raptor with the 1'' drop. Its not the cheap cheap galls stuff but their stuff that is a little more expensive. Keep in mind I am actually on patrol every day not working inside, and it still looks nice.

Mike
Link Posted: 1/30/2006 6:17:11 PM EDT
Safariland does make a line in that material. Contact Safariland, I think they call it 'Fine tac.'
Link Posted: 1/30/2006 7:04:08 PM EDT
Safariland is the only way to go in Nylon Duty gear. The Fine-tac finish is the super tight weave stuff,. that looks similar to Kydex. I think they might call it the STX finish now, IIRC.
Link Posted: 1/30/2006 7:05:07 PM EDT
I hate nylon, but if you have to go, I would say Galls
Link Posted: 1/31/2006 6:54:14 AM EDT
Thanks for the input. Contacting SafariLand now.