Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

A valid email is required.
Password is required.
Posted: 6/10/2002 10:11:52 PM EDT
I was working tonight and I went to pull a pallet of freight out on the saling floor. There is a young lady shopping in shoes dress as so: Blue jeans. White T-shirt. White T-shirt has HUGE lettering on the back in navy blue declaring "POLICE". Smaller "POLICE" on each sleeve. Patch decal on the left breast of the front of T-shirt is from one of the local departments. FULLY LOADED GUNBELT ON HER WAIST, with radio buzzing and all.... She is with her hubby and two kids. Now, I am not sure I would want to advertise to every disgruntled con in Staunton that I am a cop, especially with my kids with me. I would go more for ANY NON-LEO OR GUNOWNER T-shirt and a nice SideArmor IWB holster. I don't mind some scumbags last thought being "Gee, that ain't a wallet..." I even said to one of my co-workers, "Could you live with it if some perp you busted a couple of months ago came up behind you, knocked you out, killed your kids WITH YOUR WEAPON, and then left you alive?" Scott
Link Posted: 6/10/2002 11:48:53 PM EDT
Nope. While I always carry, I (almost) never do so openly, and I don't wear anything that identifies me as a police officer. (or for that matter, rarely anything that would identify me as a gun owner.) I work in a small town, and figure that some people know I'm a cop, so I try to be in Condition Yellow if I'm out. Now having the full gunbelt gives you options that you wouldn't have otherwise, but having everything in the open means that you might as well be on duty! You're going to be approached by people with problems, not to mention making you and your family a target. This doesn't sound like a good plan at all. dp[0J] >>Any chance she was coming from on-duty? That sounds [i]almost[/i] like a special duty (bike patrol or something) uniform. Doesn't make that the right choice, but...