Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/28/2002 9:31:50 AM EDT
or is it considered a school zone?

becouse since im a college student and am considering getting one but if i cant carry at school [:(0 kinda defeats the point if i have to leave it in the car
Link Posted: 2/28/2002 8:52:32 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm a senior in college, well art school [:P]

I have an apartment in center city Philly along with late 10pm ish, classes.  I got a permit and I carry it around the area.  I talked with some security guards about carrying on campus and they said to consult the dean.  I'm friends with him and pretty much the whole faculty is democratic and already got issues they don't like guns, so I just leave my pistols at home,e ven with late classes [:(]

But colleges are private schools, so I don't think the Gun Free School Zone thing applies, plus I'm sure they got rid of that law.

-Sam
Link Posted: 2/28/2002 9:00:06 PM EDT
[#2]
depends on where you live, in TX apprantly you cant carry in assumed places (schools, hospitals, fed's hideouts...) but they say you cant carry in "premises" of educational establishment and there is a section of texas penal code that says premises means inside buildings, so that means in TX you can legally carry in the streets of the university, but not into buildings.
Link Posted: 3/1/2002 10:32:44 AM EDT
[#3]
Florida being a "shall issue" state, CCW-wise...they still specifically prohibit CCW holders from carrying on school or university property. Stay safe
Link Posted: 3/1/2002 6:15:08 PM EDT
[#4]
It is a state issue.

Colleges are post-secondary and are not regulated by 922(q). But, there may be the issue of colleges which have adult high schools. I am not sure whether or not an Adult High School is considered to be providing Secondary education.