Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/16/2001 8:16:26 PM EDT
Hello all..
Please forgive in advance for a question that has probably been asked many times over. I have a verified Bushmaster Pre-ban(complete rifle) that has telescoping stock and a 16" HBAR with A1 flash suppressor originally. If I want to put a Bushy flat-top upper with 14.5" HBAR or M4 and A2 flash on does the flash suppressor have to be welded and pinned? Thanks...
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 8:25:07 PM EDT
[#1]
No. So long as it was a complete rifle built prior to the ban of '94.
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 8:29:18 PM EDT
[#2]
What about the 16" rule?

jim
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 8:30:58 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 8:31:26 PM EDT
[#4]
So...does this mean just as long as the total length is 16" or longer it is legal? I DON'T have to make the FS permanent? this would great as I could interchange suppressors...vortex, A2 etc.. always maintaining 16"+ And yes...the Bushmaster left the factory as an assembles rifle...Thanks!
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 8:35:14 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 10:27:42 PM EDT
[#6]
The standard A2 flash suppressor will bring the overall barrel length to about 15.5 inches.  You need to add a permanently fixed muzzle device like a Phantom, Vortex, Kurt's "A3" or one of the really ugly brakes to make it legal.
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 10:53:13 PM EDT
[#7]
16" permanently.  Period.  Unless it is registered as a SBR or pistol.  Now if your barrel was 16" at the end of the thread, then you could swap flash hiders.  
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 11:47:23 PM EDT
[#8]