Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/5/2003 8:43:16 AM EDT
I'm a newbie about to get my first AR... got addicted at a CMP match.  First - this sight has been a wonderful resource... and has pointed me towards getting a RRA NM lower (with trigger job), and seperatly a RRA (or possibly custom) NM upper.  

My question is everyone is always comparing the quality of lowers to Colt... why not just get a Colt?  I have heard they are "no longer available".  Is this meaning that Colt only sells complete guns and to get one you have to get their Competition HBAR or something - which for some reason would be a bad way to go - or are there some style Colt lowers that arent made anymore or only available to the L.E. or Military?  Would the fact that my sister is an active duty Naval Officer afford me any method of getting something better.

Thanks!
Link Posted: 6/5/2003 9:26:11 AM EDT
[#1]
RRA lowers are better than Colt ones.

I dont know what you heard but commercial Colt lowers are substandard and over priced. Yes you can buy Colt lowers from here [url]http://www.sawlesales.com/[/url] and here [url]http://www.rguns.net/[/url]. One thing about RGuns though, alot of people seem to have trouble with them so dont go there unless you need to.

Colt makes M16 lowers too which are the Aston-Martin of lowers. Only thing is if you buy/own/posses one thats not registered you are [b]SOL[/b]; you will be going to prison for a long, long time (10 years minimum).

Missapropriation (sp?) of government property is covered in UCMJ Article 121 if I remember correctly. The punishment for larceny (essentially theft) is

(c) Military property of a value of more than $500.00 or of any military motor vehicle, aircraft, vessel, firearm, or explosive. Dishonorable discharge, forfeiture of all pay and allowances, and confinement for 10 years
View Quote

and for "Wrongful appropriation" (buying/taking etc of US property) is