Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/25/2001 8:44:11 PM EDT
I just Joined the Delayed Entry program with the United States Marine Corps and had the oppurtunity to field strip an M-16 last weekend. (2 Minutes apart and together)  I am fascinated by this weapon and would like to know how to purchase one LEGALLY.  I'm think it can be done but I am new to the gun scene so I don't know what permits I would have to apply for etc.
Any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

-Eric
Link Posted: 4/25/2001 10:41:10 PM EDT
[#1]
My personal feel on Class 3's is don't get into the NFA system. Once you do, you can say goodbye to privacy.

Personal feelings aside, first you need to find out if your state of residence is a Class 3 state.  This means that civilians can own Transferable Machine guns.  Now find a Class 3 dealer in your town and let him/her know that you want a transferable M-16 (either in Registered Receiver (RR) or Registered-Drop-In-Auto-Sear (RDIAS) form)  

The RR M16 is ready to go.  The RDIAS is a small piece of metal that sits behind the trigger group in the lower on an AR15.  You'll need an M16 selector group and M16 bolt carrier to complete the setup.   Once you've found one, You'll need fill out BATF paperwork, either a Form 3 or a Form 4 and pay a $200 transfer tax.  Along with the Form 3 or 4 you will need to submit a Fingerprint card and a CLEO sign-off.  Approximate wait for your first transfer is 6-8 months depending on the load of your local BATF office.   You must have a CLEAN record.  

Oh yeah, the RR M16 or RDIAS will cost you about $3000 - $5000 which you'll need to pay at least half up front and the balance on delivery (after the Transfer is approved)  Subsequent transfers won't take as long if you want to start collecting NFA items.

Take it FWIW.
Link Posted: 4/25/2001 10:49:40 PM EDT
[#2]