Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 2/9/2002 6:28:17 PM EDT
this from www.isra.org so I had to send this to the Mayor's feedback site: I just had to get it out of my system...not sure if it belongs here.... I feel that the proposed Gun Ban is excessive. I am a law-abiding resident of one of the villages listed in Daley's proposed Gun Ban and Grab. As a collector I have a lot of money put into my collection. I own a FOID card and follow all rules regarding owning and trasporting my guns. Registration is fine on paper, but I doubt that it would stop the criminals from getting their guns. If Mayor Daley really wanted to do something about "guns", maybe he should spend money on enforcing existing gun laws and keeping the guns out of the criminals hands in the first place. I can only speculate that most guns used in a violent act were not purchased at a "gun store/FFL holder" by a FOID card owner. Registration would not have stopped the crime. More specific, the "military style rifle" which is very popular with sport shooters are highly unlikely to be used in crime. Let us look at four things: 1 The shooting in a PA school, where a "police officer" brought a handgun to "show and tell." This is not something to be taken lightly....GUNS DO NOT BELONG IN SCHOOL. As you can see, even police officers are not to be trusted with a firearm. 2 The recent shooting at St. Rita H.S. in Chicago, doubtful that the registration of firearms or banning them would have stopped this tragedy. 3 The shooting at a West Virginia law school...the media never reported that the gunman was stopped by two students that went to their vehicles to get their own guns. 4 The tragic "Los Angeles" Bank Robbery, where the Police felt out-gunned. Obvioulsy these robbers were in possession of illegal weapons (I don't remember the last time I could legally own or purchase a full automatic weapon). Remember that the police went to the local gun