Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/15/2002 5:09:48 AM EDT
anyone ever try acupuncture?

im asking cause i've got this KILLER pain in my forearm from exercising. (no jokes please ;) - ) and i think its caused by a flexor muscle under too much stress,
maybe accupuncture could help?

serious answers only please

thanks
Link Posted: 1/15/2002 5:22:21 AM EDT
[#1]
SkaerE:

Acupunture, (from my wife's experience) is good for relieving muscle tension, but I have no experience with using it to reduce pain induced from excercise.  Is the pain injury/strain related or simply a buildup of lactic acid from anaerobic respiration (lack of oxygen to the muscle as it works)?  Acupuncture may be able to help you heal an injury/strain, but the acid will just take time.

Let me know.

(Not a doctor, but I play one in the bedroom sometimes.)  -ryan
Link Posted: 1/15/2002 5:22:46 AM EDT
[#2]
When I lived in Maryland and worked as a raft guide, I did acupuncture on a regular basis...

Due to the shocks to our backs, necks and shoulders, massage therapy and accupuncture worked better than anything.

While "most" punctures are painless, the toes and back of your thighs hurt like hell during the initial insertion process...

Minor pain and discomfort aside ([i]all very temporary[/i]), it is quite relaxing and invigorating!
Link Posted: 1/15/2002 5:25:21 AM EDT
[#3]
My mother suffers from transverse myelytis (sp?) a very degeneterive spinal condition, similar to MS but not exactely the same. She has received thousands of hours of therapy at the Mao clinic in AZ, a research hospital in Cleaveland (don't remember the name,) and several hospitals here in Baltimore. The only thing other than medication that gave her any relief was acupuncture. Some people say that it is an unproven treatment, but in her case it helps a lot.
Link Posted: 1/15/2002 5:31:57 AM EDT
[#4]