Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/27/2001 5:36:44 AM EDT
For Christmas I received the Lord Of The Rings trilogy book set.  I've read sci-fi like the Star Wars and Star Trek novels before, but this is my first attempt at the world of fantasy.

I seem to remember that The Hobbit was published before LOTR.  Do I need to buy and read The Hobbit first for LOTR to make better sense?  I don't know much about them, but I think they are related some how.

Thanks,
[<|:d>] LL [<|:d>]
Link Posted: 12/27/2001 5:39:52 AM EDT
[#1]
You don't have to read The Hobbit first, but the Hobbit is a great read on its own.

I think the Fellowship of the Ring has a prologue that tells the history of the Ring, and how a Hobbit came to possess it.
Link Posted: 12/27/2001 7:14:38 AM EDT
[#2]
I'd get the Hobbit first, because you won't know why Bilbo has the Ring to give to Frodo/  You could start with The Fellowship and back track ala Star Wars, but I think it makes more sence to go chronological instead of Prequel.
Link Posted: 12/27/2001 7:21:10 AM EDT
[#3]
If you really wanted to go chronilogical you would need to read the book of lost tales etc.  However they are very difficult reads (IMHO).  As it stands the hobbit is a MUST READ to start..
The movie did it in a few seconds but you really need to understand the whole of middle earth.  You also understand more of Gollum and Gandalf.

Not to mention its a great read!!  If you have kids read it with them.. I read it to my kids as a bedtime story.,
Link Posted: 12/27/2001 7:57:09 AM EDT
[#4]
Ditto the above. Read the Hobbit first...
Link Posted: 12/27/2001 8:07:04 AM EDT
[#5]
Yeah, should read "Hobbit" first..then the trilogy....then, when you're totally a Frodohead, go back and read "The Silmarlion".
Link Posted: 12/27/2001 8:10:18 AM EDT
[#6]