Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 9/26/2001 5:04:12 PM EDT
Link Posted: 9/26/2001 5:23:57 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/26/2001 5:47:32 PM EDT by MickeyMouse]
I make my living in the HVAC trade. ANYONE who uses ANY appliance including heat that BURNS any fuel other than electricity needs a CO detector in their house. No exceptions! The kind with a digital readout is best. Locate where the alarm will wake you in your bedroom, otherwise you may sleep forever! I have no use for Consumer Reports and never read it. Best CO detectors are the most sensitve ones. These, however, are harder to find as they are discouraged by fire departments consumer groups and the like. Too many trouble calls from alarms. Trouvble is, low levels of CO over long period are very bad for your health and the damage can be cumulative. Buy the sensitive one and FIX THE DARN PROBLEM, not blame the detector! New houses are worse because of limited infiltration to dilute the poison. High eff furnaces are serious offenders for several reasons (I hate 'em!!). They are complex, have tendency to clog flue passages, have serious corrosion problems and short heat exchanger life. With a combustion air fan, they tend to force gases out through small defects in vent. Fuel oil is much less risky as it produces less CO but more stinky fumes that often warn you before you get dead.. LP (Propane)seems the worst as it it can produce CO much more easily than natural gas. ALL UNVENTED heaters are dangerous. Some worse than others. Illegal in many areas and should be illegal everywhere IMHO. Cook stoves put out tremendous amounts of CO; that is why they are considered dangerous for emergency heat. Exhaust fans are notorious for "reversing flues" or drawing negative pressure in a house. Also possible when wind blows jut right. By the time service person arrives, problem is gone. One reason you need your own detector. Another serious problem is "short vents". Chimney