Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/15/2001 1:12:03 PM EDT
George Payne, the email's author, is a senior NWA pilot and a former Navy flyer (fighter jets).  I talked to his wife......Bill
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Impenetrable Cockpit Doors

Hello Fellow Americans,

I am coming out of my shock and I want to do something, don't you. I elieve we can help the entire country avoid a repeat of yesterday's
tragedy with our phone. The FAA and our Legislators are going to enact protocols and legislation that will strongly impact your life and your ability to travel by air. Let's try to get them to enact the one single rule that would have precluded yesterday's horrific events.

But first some background. I am a professional pilot and have been all my life. To prove this is not a crank chain letter, you can call me
and I will pay for the call from anywhere in the world. To verify this letter, or gain additional information, call me at 1-800-860-4000, ext.

The FAA and the Airline Association have determined that the cockpit windows could be used as an emergency exit by passengers in a "worst case" scenario. This stance was taken out of fear of litigation in today's environment. This exit is not publicized nor announced because they do not want passengers to force their way into the cockpit except in extreme cases.

Therefore, the doors of all passenger transport aircraft can be opened, even if locked, by the application of 40 pounds of force! The pilots are the most important hostage the hijackers can acquire, yet the FAA will not give us a door we can lock!!!!

European air carriers require that the cockpit doors be Kevlar (TM) so they are bullet proof. In addition, the doors are LOCKED from the inside and cannot be breached by force. European air carriers are protected from lawsuits by legislation.